salimarBUTUAN CITY – Six (6) municipalities in Caraga region are set to implement Payapa at Masaganang Pamayanan (PAMANA), the national government’s framework for peace and development.

The municipalities of Gigaquit in Surigao del Norte; Veruela, La Paz and Esperanza in Agusan del Sur; and Tagbina and San Miguel in Surigao del Sur will continue their engagement with PAMANA for the second year. The project implementation, which will be administered by the Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD), falls under Pillar 2 of PAMANA, which refers to the “micro-level interventions that promote the convergent delivery of services and goods focused on households and communities by national, regional, and local agencies.”

PAMANA will be using the community-driven development (CDD) approach of Kapit-Bisig Laban sa Kahirapan – Comprehensive and Integrated DElivery of Social SErvices (Kalahi-CIDSS), one of the flagship anti-poverty programs of the national government administered by DSWD, in project implementation. CDD empowers communities to promote peacebuilding and social cohesion.

Project implementation will commence this month following a simultaneous signing of the memorandum of agreement (MOA) between DSWD and the respective municipal LGUs.

Some 76 baranagays in Caraga have been identified by the Office of the Presidential Adviser on Peace Process (OPAPP) as conflict-affected areas (CAAs) in the region. Each of these will receive a grant of Php300, 000 for various peace and development projects under PAMANA. ### (Social Marketing Unit)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email